FR. GIL T. MANALO, SVD SOARING AT 60


FR. GIL T. MANALO, SVD SOARING AT 60!

by: Mrs. Mae Liza C. Cabrilles
Fr. Gil T. Manalo, SVD pic

Fr. Gil T. Manalo, SVD

He was born on January 22, 1956 in Manila, he entered the Divine Word Seminary located in Tagaytay as early as his High School Life, and hence he really knows what he wants in his life. He followed his calling as soon as he graduated high school; he took up Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and graduated in 1983, finished his Bachelor of Arts in Theology on October 1988. In addition to the roster of his achievements, he finished his Master of Arts in Education Major in School Leadership at De La Salle University, and currently enrolled in Doctor of Philosophy Major in Developmental Studies at Pangasinan State University.

Fr. Gil T. Manalo or Fr. Gil became the President of Divine Word College of Vigan before he becomes the President of Divine Word College of Urdaneta. Fr. Gil is at his prime of his life, is living the way he wanted to. He is well known for being precise and diligent. He really knows what he wants to do; he is well equipped with plans.

I’ve known Fr. Gil for quite a short time, he interviewed me as I applied for a job here in DWCU, at first I was a bit aghast, I don’t know him personally, but his baritone voice was filling the four corner of his office. As he talked and asked about my family, what I do in life, I became a little relaxed, he might be some kind of intimidating but then I knew he is a priest that’s why I removed all my inhibitions and talked to him casually. As months passed by, I envisioned myself to work in this institution as long as I can and of course as long as this institution thinks that I can be of help especially for the students.

As he turned 60 this January 22, 2016 Fr. Gil is still very energetic, he is very hands-on to whatever plans it will take. He never loses judgment but weighs things accordingly. He helped every individual and challenges his people beyond their means. He pushes them (not literally though) to take actions and never doubted. He may interfere but listen to commendations and balance what is preferable from not.

We may not regularly speak but he sees to it that when I make an appointment to him and talk to me, he listens to my ideas, give me advices, “veto” sometimes but nevertheless I have to understand that he has his own reason. I have a huge respect on him, and I am thankful for he is one of the people who believed in me, and gave me a chance to pursue my dream (become a teacher).

On your birthday Fr. Gil I would like to say Thank You from the bottom of heart, I wish you more life (so you can still share your blessings, talents and wisdom), more happiness and contentment in life. Thank you for the guidance and wisdom you bestow on me and to everyone who I know want to greet you on your special day.
Happy Birthday Fr. Gil! God Bless and More Power!

8882
Mrs. Mae Liza C. Cabrilles
English Intructor, DWCU College Dept.
Columnist, Pangasinan News Local Newspaper

Leave a Reply

